Foley Room (Album)

Label:Ninja Tune

Released: 2007-02-26

Track Listing

  • Bloodstone
  • Esther's
  • Keep Your Distance
  • The Killer’s Vanilla
  • Kitchen Sink
  • Horsefish
  • Foley Room
  • Big Furry Head
  • Ever Falling
  • Always
  • Straight Psych
  • At The End Of The Day


Amon and a team of assistants headed out into the streets with high sensitivity microphones and recorded found sounds from tigers roaring to cats eating rats, from wasps to falling chickpeas, kitchen utensils to motorbikes to water dripping from a tap. Added to this were the sounds of musicians like the Kronos Quartet, Stefan Schneider and Sarah Pagé, Tobin traveling from foley rooms in Montreal to San Francisco to Seattle and back as he collected them. He then took this wealth of source material and twisted it round into the haunting, muscular music you can hear throughout this remarkable album. This CD release will be accompanied by a 30 minute DVD, "Foley Room: Found Footage," documenting the recording process.


“Tobin’s best album in seven years.” - Pitchfork


“A wonderfully realised project.” - Clash