Two Fingers (Album)

Label:Big Dada

Released: 2009-07-19

Track Listing

  • Straw Men
  • What You Know
  • Better Get That
  • Two Fingers
  • Keman Rhythm
  • Jewels and Gems
  • Bad Girl
  • High Life
  • Doing My Job
  • Not Perfect
  • Moth Rhythm


Two Fingers are Brazilian beat-adventurer Amon Tobin and Joe “Doubleclick” Chapman. The pair met when Tobin lived in Brighton and bonded over an interest in music that ran way beyond the boundaries of “electronica”. In Montreal they applied production techniques associated with UK styles like drum & bass to the template of hip hop. It was an experiment with explosive results.

MOBO-winner Sway (now signed to Akon’s Konvict label in the US) heard what was brewing he was so taken with it, he flew straight out to Montreal and recorded seven tracks with them, showing a harsher, more serious side to his personality whilst offering wry social commentary on everything from the way young Black men are treated (“What You Know”) to crazy girls who do too many pills (“That Girl”). The remaining rhythms were voiced by sometime Missy protégé Ms Jade and dancehall legend Ce’Cile. A couple of instrumental rhythms were added and this, the first stage of a continuing project, was complete.

“Two Fingers” is a project unlike anything that any of the main players has ever made before, a unique, utterly uncompromising, brutal and beautiful record that could only have grown out of the UK and the internationalism of those involved. If it’s not hip hop as we know it, then nor is it drum & bass or grime. Like all the best music it transcends genre to stand on its own – icy, transcendent, brilliant. 

“Apocalyptic slash-and-burn rap futurism, with 1999-vintage Timbo as spirit animal”         – Pitchfork

“An inspired project” – Q